Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia - question about hematological investigations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BlondeCookie

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm studying some blood pathology review and am a little stumped about Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (ALL). According to my review book, the common hematological findings of ALL reveal the following:
  • leukocytosis
  • anemia
  • neutropenia
  • thrombocytopenia

The leukocytosis bit, I understand since there is neoplastic proliferation of leukemic cells in ALL. However, anemia, neutropenia, and thrombocytopenia all come from a common myeloid[/d] stem cell, not a common lymphoid stem cell. So, in order to get the latter 3 clinical disorders, wouldn't a person have to have Acute Myeloblastic Leukemia (AML) and not Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (ALL)?

Members don't see this ad.

AML would be marked by an excess of cells in the myeloid line (granulocytes, thrombocytes, rbcs) and ALL is marked by excess lymphocytes. You determine what it is by 1) what cell type is in excess (lymphoblastic vs. myeloblastic) 2) what level of maturity (acute vs chronic)

Having ALL means you have a huge excess of precursor lymphocytes that are defective and b/c you have the excess of lymphocytes, I believe, you get crowding and in conjunction w/ various cytokines you get a decrease in myeloblast proliferation which means you get infections (defective lymphocytes, low polys), bleeding (thrombocytopenia) and pretty bad anemia (low rbcs) which I think is the classic presentation for a kid w/ ALL (I don't think it is common in adults).

QuinnB is right. The proliferating clonal lymphoblasts essentially hijack the entire bone marrow by crowding the out myeloid precursors and impairing normal hematopoeisis. Thus, you see excessive lymphocytes with corresponding anemia, neutropenia, and thrombocytopenia.