accepting any advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

deead

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! :(

This is may first thread in this forum and I`m very excited because I can meet people who share the same dream as me-" to be MD".
As now I`m enrolled in a US community college after trying to get into a US medical school and failed because they do not accept international medical students.I studied General Medicine at University of Medicine & Pharmacy "Iuliu Hatieganu" , Cluj-Napoca, Romania , five years ( it requires 6 year for a MD degree ).I have one more year to decide if it is better to go back to finish my school or trying here in US to get the greencard so I can go to Med here in US.
If you have any idea of what can I do and what are my chances to get a US degree I would appreciate if you`ll share with me.
I`m applying to a Nursing School for this fall.

:luck: :luck: I wish everyone good luck!!! :luck: :luck:

Members don't see this ad.

In order to go to med school in the US you need to have an undergraduate degree from another university. Since you have not yet finished your med program in Romania, I don't think that you qualify to apply to med school in the US since I think the Romanian program is like other European programs where your undergrad and your MD are rolled into one (hence the 6 years). If you want to stay in the US (and not return to Romania), then you will have to do 4 years of undergrad, then take the MCAT and try to get into med school there. Alternatively you can finish your degree in Romania and take the USMLE and try to get into residency in the US.