Accepted to UW! Done w/Pre-Reqs! Take it easy or hit the books early?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

trishki

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
After years of hard work and nail-biting, I was accepted to the University of Washington DPT program and will start at the end of the September! My dilemma now is what to do until then...should I take it easy, do some reading, volunteer at the humane society, exercise, go on camping trips, or try to get a temporary job (we can live off my husband's salary alone for the time being, though some extra money would be great). I might also have a shot at another, more lucrative job but it would involve leaving my husband for the whole summer, and I'm not sure I want to throw away what could be our last peaceful time together before I'm knee-deep in homework again.

I did well in my anatomy/biology/physiology classes, but I'm a pro at memorizing what's necessary for the test and then forgetting/replacing it with the new information, so I'm not sure how much of it I'll be able to readily draw on when I'm back in classes. If I wanted to get a leg up on what to study in preparation for my first year, what resources should I look to?

Thanks for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Relax and enjoy yourself. You have worked hard to get where you are today. Seriously!!! Unless you have a financial hardship, you should really take time off.

Is anyone nervous as hell? I've been working toward this goal for 2 years and had 2 major anxiety issues since then. 1 when i finished all of my applications, and 2, right now (finished my final prereq tomorrow morning). the thought of 3 years of full time school is starting to take its toll on me and im getting a little anxious (mainly whether all of this will pay off).

Anyone else in the same boat and care to offer some motivation/advice?

Members don't see this ad :)