Accepted to MD and DO with a 496 and 494; My Story of Hope

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DermDOcGenZ

Reaction score
I did not receive a single interview my first cycle and to be frank, I applied to 28 schools in 2020-21 cycle not knowing a 492 mcat was Trash. I then completed a one year Master's and retook the MCAT, getting an overall score of 496 with CARS being a 121. YIKES, right!! I signed up for the exam again and in the mean time; I still applied the next cycle to 30 schools including IV leagues because I am delusional HAHA.

Application Background: I did my Master's at a DO medical school and got the pre-clinical dean to write my LOR and the Dean of Master's at the SOM to write another LOR. Moreover, I did research at an additional MD medical school under the head of research, whom also wrote my LOR. I then had 2 physician's and a science professor in undergrad write my remaining LOR's. My science GPA in undergrad was a 3.71 and overall a 3.76 on the AMCAS application. My Master's GPA was a 3.51. I had 2 publications, 2500+ hours of research and ER scribing. 1500+ hours of non-medical volunteering over 6 years at the same place and numerous non-medical extracurriculars such as acting for scripted television and modeling for big brand names. BTW, I suck at standardized exams, but truly do have a really easy personality to vibe with.

Before taking my new MCAT exam, I was shocked to see that I had gotten 4 interview invites late in November with rejections left and right from other schools of Medicine. 3 schools were DO: WestU, PCOM, and Nova. Wayne State was my MD interview. At this point I was rejected from Lecom so I hope you can understand my shock at even getting an interview.