Academic Probation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Blunt

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a military intern who had some bad luck on call one night and was placed on academic probation. I think it's unfair b/c other interns and residents have made similar and much worse mistakes yet hardly been punished. But that is besides the point. Previously I had been selected for pgy2 position at a different military training center. The probation has automatically triggered a "re-look" meeting to evaluate whether I'll keep the slot.

The meeting is coming up soon, and I was wondering if anybody has any advice. What kind of documention should I submit? Is there anything in particular they'd like to hear about in an essay?

Members don't see this ad.

I guess if this all centers around just "one night of call" then your essay should address that night without trying to cast blame on others or skirt the issue. You might get more advice if we knew what specifically happened.

Blunt said:
I am a military intern who had some bad luck on call one night and was placed on academic probation. I think it's unfair b/c other interns and residents have made similar and much worse mistakes yet hardly been punished. But that is besides the point. Previously I had been selected for pgy2 position at a different military training center. The probation has automatically triggered a "re-look" meeting to evaluate whether I'll keep the slot.

The meeting is coming up soon, and I was wondering if anybody has any advice. What kind of documention should I submit? Is there anything in particular they'd like to hear about in an essay?

I am not sure what you mean by a meeting. If this is a hearing, not just an informal departmental meeting, they should have advised you of that and of the possible outcomes.