Academic inconsistencies essay

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nontrad_FL_LGBT

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Essay: Please explain in more detail (in less than 1500 characters) anything that would help us understand any gaps or delays in your education, academic missteps, or personal challenges not listed elsewhere.

Should I discuss the fact that I am a career changer here and that my early (10+ years ago) academic credentials no longer apply? I don't want to appear that I'm making an excuse about my previous mediocre grades, but I would like to try and explain the extent of relevant work activities that I was doing outside of class.

I graduated with a mediocre 3.26 uGPA in 2014 because I was pursuing a path in video gaming and esports; I chose a liberal arts degree so that I could focus more of my time on this without failing out, haha. I was working on design and technical skills outside of class in addition to managing weekly national events for amateurs and even was invited to attend a national conference by one of the largest gaming companies to participate in a piloting committee for the direction they would take for collegiate esports. As a direct result of this conference, a national collegiate bracket was developed with significant ($20k+) scholarships for prizes. I didn't discuss any of this in my main app since it was so long ago and somewhat irrelevant. I subsequently finished a MS (4.0) from the #1 program in the country and became a game designer as my first career. I've recently performed at a ~3.7 GPA in my pre-req coursework as well.

Thoughts if this is an appropriate discussion?

Members don't see this ad.