ACA and ENT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ORLHNS41

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Do any attendings on this forum have an opinion on how the affordable care act will affect otolaryngologists in the near future? I'm a fourth year resident likely going into general practice. Will it still be possible to do well in a 4 or 5 person group, or is it more likely that you'll need to be part of a larger group (>10)? Or, should I lean towards a position with a company like kaiser or HCA and be salaried. Most of my attendings are unsure of the future, but can't speak with regard to private practice.

Also, is there any reason current residents should definitely do fellowships? I love general and all the variety, and I feel my training has been very well rounded. On the other hand, if further subspecializing might be the trend of the future, there are some fellowships I would consider. With the current (and worsening future physician shortage), I can't imagine that subspecializing will be required to perform certain procedures within our field and get reimbursed.

I appreciate any insight on these topics. I'm sure I'm worrying too much, but my students loans are weighing heavily on me right about now... at a nice 6.8%....

Members don't see this ad.

Do any attendings on this forum have an opinion on how the affordable care act will affect otolaryngologists in the near future? I'm a fourth year resident likely going into general practice. Will it still be possible to do well in a 4 or 5 person group, or is it more likely that you'll need to be part of a larger group (>10)? Or, should I lean towards a position with a company like kaiser or HCA and be salaried. Most of my attendings are unsure of the future, but can't speak with regard to private practice.