A question from a medical student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NJCU05

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
If I am a student in a medical school that offers a postgraduate program in neurosurgery, how easily could I get into the program compared to other applicants who graduated from some other medical schools? Would my school consider my application to that residency program equally like any other residency matching program applicants?

Thanks greatly to any one who may contribute his or her thoughts

Members don't see this ad.

I think you'd get a better answer from the current residents or the neurosurgery faculty or perhaps your dean. But, I think, general programs would look favorably upon an applicant whom they know firsthand rather than an unkown or someone who has only spent a few weeks at the program. You still have to show them that you are a qualified applicant. Talk to the department and get involved.

mpp, let me ask you a few questions.
1. Could a neurosurgeon who completed his or her 7-year residency perform all neurosurgical procedures? Or, must he or she be more specialized through a fellowship?

2. Which neurosurgery subspecialty is the most financially rewarding? And how long is its fellowship?

Thanks in advance for your greatly appreciated help.

The only true sub-specialty of neurosurgery (one with its own board certification) is pediatric neurosurgery.