A lil advice to strengthen my application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

I-Ballz

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to this site and I hope I can get a little advice. I graduated from undergrad a year ago and have been working ever since then. After a lot of comtemplating and discussion with current optometrists, I decided Opt was the career choice for me. Since then I have resigned from my 50+ hour a week job to take a more modest part-time job which has allowed me to enroll in a couple summer classes (1 is an optometry pre-req and the other is just to show my dedication to being admitted) and to spend 3-4 hours each tuesday shadowing an optometrist at a local eye clinic. I have a lil community involvement experience to strengthen my application but it doesn't require much effort on my part. I guess my real question is this: I have just recently been asked to volunteer a couple hours each weekend at the local hospital. It would work out well for me b/c I could work it into my work/class/shadowing schedule, but it would have nothing to do with Optometry or Ophthalmology. Would I be better off to take this non-Optometry volunteer opportunity at the hospital or seek out volunteer experience in an Opt setting? Sorry if I've rattled on, but like I said, I'm new to this site and I'm looking for any advice I can get to help improve my chances of being accepted for the fall of '07.

Members don't see this ad.

I-Ballz said: