A guy climbing a rock in front of you totally decks...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

skichica

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Not sure if I should be posting here or at a rock climbing forum, but here goes...I'm a neurosurgery resident, former ski patroller and EMT. One of the reasons I went into surgery is because I witnessed a terrible skiing accident in high school and hated the helpless feeling I had.

Flash forward 15 years...this weekend, I'm out rock climbing, having lunch 30yds away from the base of a popular climbing spot and watch someone rappel off the end of their rope and fall 30 feet to a rocky ledge, then ragdoll down the rest of the crag, unhelmeted of course. Magically, he was conscious and not spinal cord injured. Meanwhile, everyone is shouting for a doctor. I grabbed my first aid pack and did what I could, and thankfully there was a well seasoned fire fighter to help as well. EMS was not too far away and the guy didn't have a neurologic decline by the time EMS arrived (my biggest fear). However, I was pretty shaken up by the whole thing and became acutely aware of my rusty wilderness medicine/EMT skills and inadequate first aid pack. Having been surrounded by CT scanners and ORs for several years, I found the situation a lot more unsettling than I thought I would.

So, questions for you: what should I keep in my first aid pack in my car? which wilderness med textbook should I get? and any suggestions in keeping up with this stuff? What would you do in that situation if someone did have a neurologic decline in front of you?(besides get on the phone to get the chopper in more quickly)