A good Ireland Post Grad story!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
M

Mike MacKinnon

Ok

SO for those of you who do not know me ill give you a bit of backround for this story. Im an RN from Canada working in the USA. Been doing it for about 10 years. All Trauma teams, ICU ER and the last 3 years i have been a Flight Nurse on a helicopter here in AZ. I teach basically every class that exists and that is where this story begins.

In my ACLS calls friday i had the Head of Cardiology at a local Level 1 Cardiac center. Anywho, i noticed he had an Irish accent and so I HAD to ask. He is a grad from UCD! Surprise sursprise!! Anyway, he has been in the USA for over 20 years and had an EXCELLENT experience training and living in dublin. Hes a native after all! He still maintains a house in cork and loves visiting. He had nothing but excellent praise for the medical education he recieved. His only issue was the system he was working in (socialized medicine can be difficult at times when it comes to resource allocation).

He wanted me to tell all the people on this board that they will love the education and the trip. Sure the match is always an issue, but good students who work hard will always make it back. He has numerous friends who either went there for med school or came from Ireland to here post grad. All made it in residecies.

He did want me to warn everyone of one thing. the USMLE's. He suggested anyone going to Ireland who wants to come back do as MANY electives in the USA as possible and study for the USMLE's as a seprate thing from your med school. The reality is that though the info is the same, he said how to present it for the USMLE's is different and it is important to understand how the questions will be asked. (similar to studying for the MCAT).

Anyway, i thought you would all like to hear a cool story from an extremely successful Ireland Grad!

Members don't see this ad.