A Few Questions!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Iridium

Dinosaur Killer
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hiya! It was a big coincidence... I was typing in MPH for a question that I had and suddenly this forum popped brand-new! I think SDN is psychic. Anyway, I have a few questions:

I'm a sophomore in college (Bio/Pre-Med), and I've suddenly become very interested in Public Health, especially epidemiology and biostats. I'm taking a few courses in Epidemology and Stats next semester, and am trying to get an internship at the Dept of Health for next summer, but I had a few questions:

1) What are the advantages/disadvantages to getting an MD/MPH as opposed to just getting a straight PhD/Masters in Epidemology or Biostatistics?

2) I've seen residencies that come with the MPH built in (Preventive Medicine I believe). Now, is that different from the MD/MPH program, or the same thing. I was under the impression that in the former, you get the MPH after you get the MD, while in the MD/MPH program, you get the MPH during.

3) One of the biggest concerns with getting an MD is that I may not be able to take the insane hours that are required. I mean, I consider 40 hrs/week a full week of work, but the 80-100 hr/week just boggles my mind. This may not have to do with the MPH too much, but should I consider 80-100 that daunting?

4) Any other ideas on how to explore the fields, and should I post this in another forum (Pre-allo or allo)?

Thanks in Advance,
~Iridium

Members don't see this ad.

Originally posted by Iridium
Hiya! It was a big coincidence... I was typing in MPH for a question that I had and suddenly this forum popped brand-new! I think SDN is psychic. Anyway, I have a few questions: