4th year electives

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

swampdonkey

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd year student trying to plan my 4th year out so that I can find a residency program that fits me well.

My school doesn't have a PM&R program -- only a 2 week elective during IMED -- and my advisor is the only physiatrist in town and has never been an advisor before. So I"ve been trying to do a lot of research on my own.

Anyway, I have been looking online for 4th year electives and I would love to find a PM&R elective that is sports medicine or at least MSK based at a residency program that is more geared toward outpatient (again preferable sports med) PM&R.

Through the different programs websites I found, the university of virginia's program seems very appealing.

Can anyone give me some advice on which residency programs are more outpatient based than others, and also advice on any outpatient/sportsmed based 4th year electives.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

If you rotate at Mayo you'll spend time in all areas of rehab. This will give you a good exposure to the field and what to expect in residency. Rotating students spend a week on the spine service, a week on the brain service, and two weeks of mixed outpatient experiences including spine center, hand, msk clinic, EMG, and sports. You should be seeking out broad experiences as a med student to ensure you'll make it through the entire residency IMHO.

If you rotate at Mayo you'll spend time in all areas of rehab. This will give you a good exposure to the field and what to expect in residency. Rotating students spend a week on the spine service, a week on the brain service, and two weeks of mixed outpatient experiences including spine center, hand, msk clinic, EMG, and sports. You should be seeking out broad experiences as a med student to ensure you'll make it through the entire residency IMHO.

Completely agree:thumbup: