41 years old, Do I have a Chance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Indianarn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I am some what different from most of you in the sense that I am 41 years old (Old man some say hahaha). Any how, I am getting ready to take MCAT in September 2013. I have a BS in Biology with a GPA 3.55 sGPA 3.61 and a BS in nursing with a GPA of 2.72 (yea I really suck there). The reason for this low GPA is that I got married right before I started the accelerated BSN (18 months) and we got pregnant with our first child. My daughter was born while I was still in nursing school. I was working 20-30 per week. I know no excuse is a good excuse, but that the one I have. Beside that I have been a business owner for 5 year, HVAC tech for 2 years, I am RN from last three years and have worked as a stroke nurse, med surge nurse, and in Nursing homes. I am volunteering at a teen age pregnancy center since May of this year. I have 2 docs lined up for shadowing. I also have 4 months of undergrad Biology research. I am and Indiana resident. What do you guys think are my chance to get into med school? I would really love some constructive feed bad and it would much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

The low Nursing GPA is concerning to me, despite the reason. I think it's best to check back once you have your MCAT score.

Age is irrelevant and age discrimination is illegal. Some of my all time best students were in their 40s.