3rd time around? What do you think!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nycpsychloy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

So I've applied for Ph.D. programs twice already (with no success) and am gearing up for my third try. Since I began the process my credentials have expanded and I believe I am in a good situation for this application season but I'd love to have some feedback and maybe some school recommendations!

I am halfway through a clinical psychology Masters - 3.8 GPA
I have three years of research experience -
1 year - data entry, literature reviews at a pediatric hospital (epilepsy focused)
1 year at Columbia University - data manager using SPSS daily, writing protocols, IRB, manuscript editing and writing, grant writing
1 year working with a pediatric psychiatrist - working one on one with study subjects, manuscript/protocol writing

I had a 3.5 undergraduate GPA
I have a 575 on the GRE subject test
and an 1150 on the GRE general test

I am on two published papers and I am first author on one I am submitting this fall so it may be in press by the time applications are submitted.
I am on 12 presentation abstracts.

Since I have a lot of research experience I am aiming for a Clinical Psychology PhD rather then a PsyD. My career goals include teaching, some research, and part-time working with patients. I am interested in the resiliency and interpersonal relationships of Adolescents.

Pleeease! let me know what you think! I've been battling the idea of re-taking my GREs... does anyone think that is necessary!

Thanks!!:)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

Pleeease! let me know what you think! I've been battling the idea of re-taking my GREs... does anyone think that is necessary!