35 yrs old software engineer planning for dentistry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shane007

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello folks,

I'm a 35 years old software engineer working in Canada. I have an undergraduate degree in computer engineering from India ('03; 7.45 CGPA) and Masters degree in operations research from uWaterloo ('07; ). Since then I have been working as a Software Engineer in the IT. I'm married, have a 4 yrs old daughter, earn decent salary. My wife has also been working in IT as business analyst.

During my masters years, I formed friends who were preparing for the dental school and through their talks/books, I realized that I should have really pursued dental school from the beginning. I wanted to switch streams then but couldn't due to various reasons (masters degree loan debt, applying for immigration, and later on full time job, marriage, etc). For last couple of years, I have been taking some online PCB and dental courses out of interest. Biology & Maths fascinate me and dentistry seems a place where both are needed and applied. With all that, I have been wondering for the last couple of months if I could try at least once for the dental school. I understand that it will not be easy. I will need to take all the prereqs (2 yrs), write DAT, contact profs for the recommendation letters, applying to schools which would all take about 3 yrs I guess. Following is the course of action I am thinking:

1. Contact all the dental schools in Canada, explain my situation and ask for the feasibility for me even thinking to apply.
2. If there is a yes, contact uOttawa or Carleton University (as I live in Ottawa) for the prereq courses and if I can take them in the evening with the full time job I have.
3. Try to take 3 courses each semester starting coming September and finish all in 4 semesters (2 each for English, Chemistry, Biology, Organic Chemistry, Biochemistry, Physics)