31 year old interested in career change. Researching HPSP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NeedAnMD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I work in IT right now. I run a small business. It's moderately successful, but that success isn't worth the hassle.

I graduated with a undergrad degree (B.A.) in Behavioral Sciences, so I realize I'll need postbac/premed. Recently, I've been looking into HPSP primarily as a means to finance it, but also because I've always had an itch to serve.

I went to see a recruiter today in order to get more information, but he just told me what he thought I wanted to hear (which I expected), and didn't seem to know much of anything about HPSP while pretending he did (which I didn't expect).

He basically just kept using the word "easy" in response to any of my questions, and in some instances I think he was misinforming me. The subject of how bad he was might make an interesting topic for another thread (I realize he is not representing my best interests, but there is some code of ethics for them, right?!?).

Here's how I'm understanding things so far, and I'd be much obliged if anyone could expound on this and tell me when I'm wrong.

1) Attempting to exchange service for financing my postbac/premed would likely delay matters significantly, and since I'm already a bit older than average and have some income, I may as well foot that bill myself.

2) My options are Army, Navy, or AF. I haven't yet had the time to check the differences, but I'd appreciate any input.

3) After four years of school, with my 1 weekend/month and 2 weeks/year of training, it's time for Internship and GME.

4) After graduation, I can begin my residency with the military, provided I accept my match.