31, with 3 kids and wife, considering an MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xiphosm3

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

After a string of events in my life, I am now considering pursuing an MD as it was something I always wanted to do but in my immaturity when I was younger, I never wanted to apply myself that much.

I graduated in '07 with a BA in Business Management, went onto owning a few businesses but they dried up as well as my motivation to continue that lifestyle. I am looking for something with far more job stability and income stability.

I have begun researching courses I'd need to take so that I could take the MCAT.

I am wondering for those in a situation like mine, with a stay at home mom and kids aged 6, 4 and 2 how you guys did it?

1. How did you manage your time between coursework and family?
2. How did you afford it when your wife was a stay at home?
3. Was it hard going back to school after being out for so long?
4. Did you find it easier to get into med school and residency because you had previous experience that improved your resume or was it more of a hindrance?
5. How much research and volunteer work did you do pre-med? I know for a lot of us nontrads, we have many more responsibilities than the traditional student.

Thanks all~

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
My circumstances are similar to yours.

1. I did one class per semester because I wasn't willing to not spend a decent amount of my free time with my family. The downside is that this has taken a long time. I started in January of 2014. I'm taking the MCAT this weekend and if all goes well I will start medical school in late summer of 2018, four and half years after starting this process. The plus side is that the impact on work and family has been minimal.

2. I did all my coursework at community colleges, with one exception, so the expense was minimal.