30 Years Old, Business Degree/Background, considering Physical Therapy.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

herman345

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

So, as I wrote in the title, I'm 30 years old with a business degree and a pretty eclectic employment background. I've taught ESL abroad, worked in sales for construction equipment, worked in the finance industry for a few years, and I'm currently a financial analyst at a healthcare company. Long story short, I've realized that these kinds of cubicle jobs make me miserable, and I want something better. I have my reasons as to why I think PT would be a good fit, but that's not what I want to address here. The question I want to ask is whether or not lack of relevant experience could keep me from getting into a PT program.

My GPA for my undergrad was decent - 3.7, but I would have to go back for some of the pre-requisites. I'm fairly confident that I can do pretty well on the GRE, but actual experience working with patients is where I'm completely lacking, and right now I'm supporting myself and my wife on my salary, so working part time in a clinic is less than ideal. So, what do you guys think? Could I get into PT school without any actual experience, or should I consider possibly moving back in with my parents so that I can work full time in the field while getting my prerequisites out of the way?

Thanks,

-Herman345

Members don't see this ad.