3 years college then Dental School? (Highschool Senior)

bcsuccess

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone, so I made a thread about this months ago, but since college is almost here I wanted an updated opinion. So long story short I am a highschool student, last semester left :D .... I am very interested in dentistry, I love the fact you can own your own businesses and also help others. My mom is a dentist so I know a lot about it.

I was a dual enrollment student at my local university and completed 34 credits. (I am considered a sophomore in college techinally) so i will enter college as a sophomore. Do you think it is feasible to graduate in 3 years nd go to dental school right after? I have taken a lot of recommended courses (Anatomy, Physiology, Psychology, Sociology, and got All A's. When I enter college I will basically have all of the general education done, and I will mostly be doing prereqs and major courses.

I am not trying to rush, but I am not trying to waste time either. Any help will do. And also, what would be a good time to take DAT? thanks guys!

Members don't see this ad.

I think the biggest thing is being able to take your DAT before your 3rd year in undergrad, cause that's what you'll need to do to avoid having to take a gap year and jump straight into dental school. If you plan things out carefully, I don't see any reason why you can't graduate in 3 years and go to DS right after. Just make sure you plan for curveballs too (a class filling up for example), and that you're still able to participate in a wide variety of ECs. You'd be taking your DAT (ideally) the summer before your last year cause you'd be applying that summer.

Good luck!

I think the biggest thing is being able to take your DAT before your 3rd year in undergrad, cause that's what you'll need to do to avoid having to take a gap year and jump straight into dental school.