3.6 cGPA, 3.5 sGPA, 31Q

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phillies1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I was hoping to get some feedback on where I should be applying. I'd really appreciate any advice (and criticism) about my application, and I really appreciate your help!

My cGPA is 3.6 and my sGPA is about 3.5. I have a strong upward trend with all A's in my last 2 semesters. I scored a 31Q on my MCAT (9 PS, 11 V, 11 BS). I am a Delaware resident.

Research: Perhaps the strongest part of my activities/ECs. I've worked in 2 research labs on 3 different projects and have 3 posters presented. I am also working on 2 manuscripts, one of which I hope to have submitted in the next few months. I am currently working full-time as a research assistant at a children's hospital.

Volunteering: Since March, I volunteer about 2-3 hours per week at hospital in the child life program. I also volunteered about 30 hours in emergency department.

Other clinical: 5-week summer internship for credit at a psychiatric hospital.

Community Service: Volunteer at the humane association at both the animal shelter and off-site adoption centers.

Shadowing: Not too much yet, although I have had the opportunity to shadow an orthopedic surgeon our lab collaborates with for a few hours. I am planning to shadow the orthopedic surgeon a few more times, and I am scheduled to start shadowing in geriatric medicine (and possibly a couple other specialities) in a couple weeks. I really enjoy shadowing and even if it won't help me much on my primary/secondaries, I still think it is a really valuable experience.

Additionally, I have also TA-ed for a physiology lab and consider myself to have above-average LORs. For what it's worth, I think I have a strong personal statement that really conveys why I have chosen a career as a physician.

The schools I am thinking of applying to are:

Jefferson
Drexel
UConn
GWU
Georgetown