This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BigLadyBugBelly

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I want to get an idea for what MD/DO schools I could be eligible for and what I can do to improve my current standing.

I'm a senior pre-med Neuroscience and English double-major at Georgia State University with an expected 3.6-3.7 cGPA and a 3.3-3.4 sGPA upon graduating. I'm a Georgia resident interested in MD/DO schools that integrate Narrative Medicine in their curriculum-- Columbia M.C., West Virginia M.C., Arizona M.C., and Dell M.C. at UT to name a few.

My education goals are to pursue a MD/DO for Neurology and obtain a M.F.A in fiction writing after medical school. I value clinical research, personable doctor-patient relationships, and medical schools/practices that encourage and employ creativity in treatment. My career goals are to practice Neurology while conducting clinical research, as well as publishing short-fiction in literary journals.

About myself: I'm a 25 year old white male and I'll be the first in my family to graduate with a college degree. My mother worked as a receptionist and my father was a male dancer and now delivers roofing material by semi-truck. I graduated high-school in 2010 but performed poorly due to a poor work-ethic and disinterest in classes.I made donuts at Krispy Kreme for two years and decided I didn't want to work minimum wage jobs my whole life and saved up money to attend community college in 2012. I fostered a better work ethic and because I knew the job outcome would be dismal if not. I transferred to GSU with a 3.9 GPA after two years of community school and have been at GSU since. I bartend 8-12 hour shifts at a karaoke bar Friday-Sunday to support living on my own. Bartending has improved my relations with people (drunk and sober) and the ability to perform well under pressure.