3.5, 34S, Virginia resident

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

firemedic12

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a Virginia resident applying in the upcoming cycle. I'm looking for some feedback on my application and school list.

Major: BS Chemistry
cGPA: 3.50
sGPA: 3.47
MCAT: 34S (12B,11P,11V)

Extracurriculars:
- Volunteer Firefighter/EMT-I with the local Fire Department (12-24 hrs. per week for about 2.5 years so far): ALS provider with lots and lots of clinical experience in the field and in the ED. I've also had some leadership roles as a BLS preceptor and as a Firefighter recruit instructor. I usually ride as an ALS engine medic, but also work on a BUSY medic unit a few times a month.

- Research Assistant (20 hrs. a week for about 4 semesters so far): Working on my first ACS journal publication with my primary PI. I should be on as a second author. Recently took the lead on a grant proposal project with a secondary PI that works closely with my lab. Currently working independently on a major component of a project funded by a DTRA contract. I've presented independent research at a bunch of state and regional conferences, including a few big ACS meetings. I'm also a peer reviewer for my university's student publication journal.