3.2 BCPM, 3.5 Overall, 34 MCAT.. should I apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

augustina

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm new to this but I'm trying to decide right now if I should apply in this cycle or wait a year, to potentially improve my BCMP GPA. I would like to go to higher ranked schools, such as BU, Albert Einstein, Sinai, etc. Please let me know what you think!

(FYI: At a very competitive undergrad institution, where grades are notoriously low)

BCPM: 3.2
AO: 4.0
Overall: 3.5
MCAT: 34 (11, 12, 11)
Research publication in American Heart Assoc. Journal, 2 posters
Significant research for 3 years
Trained EMT
President of Pre-Med Society and a volunteering organization
Kaplan MCAT Instructor and Tutor
Not very much shadowing experience..

THANK YOU!

Members don't see this ad.

Your chances at more selective schools are slim, but I think you have a reasonable chance of getting accepted if you do away with your high standards and apply broadly.

It will be tough to get into one of those selective schools, since their average MCAT is around 3.4. With an average BCMP of 3.6-3.8 at many of those schools, you'll be at a disadvantage..

Which state are you from? I'd also recommend applying broadly to all public schools in your state and various private schools (more on the mid-level than high-level) throughout the nation.

Schools like Sinai and AECOM are very selective, so waiting another year is not worth the risk as your chances of getting into them would go up next year, but there would still be a good chance you don't get in. I wouldn't consider BU a great school, though some may like its location and it is very tough to get it as they receive a lot of apps. I think it's one of the most expensive schools in the nation, along with Tufts.