25 yr old banker looking to make a career change...how realistic is it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tigerspirit

Reaction score
I've been working on Wall Street for several years since graduating college. Lately I've been deeply unfulfilled, and know that I won't last in finance and have to switch careers. In considering other options and talking to others in a variety of fields, nothing really stands out to me as something I could be content doing for the rest of my life as much as medicine. I've lurked these forums and seen the warnings about the long road ahead, declining comp, changing landscape....but all in all I think that I would be pretty content treating patients as a career.

• I took two semesters each of bio, inorganic chem and physics back in 2011-2012 and got all A's (at a T25 school). Unfortunately after this I switched to business and the world of finance lured me away for all this time.
  • I have NO medical-related EC's at the moment. Due to long hours and laser focus on performing well in my job until recently, I don't have any EC's since I graduated
  • I have enough savings where I'm able to quit my job and focus full time for several years on trying to build a second life
My plan would be to quit after getting my bonus in January next year and enroll in a DIY post bacc to take the remaining courses I need (O chem, maybe biochem and genetics). I'd plan to do a lot of clinical volunteering, shadowing and studying for MCAT while taking the remaining classes (hopefully enough schools would accept my six basic science classes from 2011-2012 so I won't have to re-take....).

Ideally I'd complete all this and be ready to apply by summer 2021 (only 1.5 years of work which may be too ambitious...) for starting med school in 2022 at age 28.