24 Hour Shifts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted813736

I am starting a new job that averages 7000/yr patients, 5 bed ER, 24 hour shifts. I have never worked more than 12's and those were a drag. For those of you who work these types of shifts, do you often clump them together? I was asked if I could do 2-3 in a row although I am not sure how reasonable/unreasonable this is. I am a new grad from 2020.

Thanks for anyones thoughts!

Members don't see this ad.

Don’t clump them, for your own sanity! The volume at your ER appears to be low enough that 24h shifts are doable. I have worked 24s at ultra low volume FSEDs that are brand new, where I saw 3-4 patients, all during the day. Those were not bad at all. Just make sure you have a decent blanket/sheets sleep mask/box heater to be comfortable enough at night to fall asleep.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Done 24's at a similar sized ER. Hated it.
Some nights would be great and I could get 3-4 hrs sleep.
Most sucked as I had to get up for a patient every 1-2 hrs.
Will never do them again.

Reactions: 3 users
Did 24 hour shifts exactly once. Just enough patients came in at night to be annoying and there was nowhere comfortable to sleep. Why do these people who build freestandings think a "Lay-z-boy" is adequate to get some rest in?

After hour 18 I was an impaired physician. Never again.

I am starting a new job that averages 7000/yr patients, 5 bed ER, 24 hour shifts. I have never worked more than 12's and those were a drag. For those of you who work these types of shifts, do you often clump them together? I was asked if I could do 2-3 in a row although I am not sure how reasonable/unreasonable this is. I am a new grad from 2020.

They asked you if you could do 2 in a row?? Uh ask whoever asked you that when the last time was they worked for 48hrs straight.