Navy 2019 4-Year HPSP Applicants

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DentalDoge

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I just wanted to start a thread for those who are applying for the 4-year HPSP program for (this year) the c/o 2019, so that people can ask questions and get questions answered as there are alot of conflicting information out there.

Members don't see this ad.

Currently in Navy HSCP program. A little different than HPSP but I have decent knowledge on both subjects.

Will be happy to answer any questions you folks have..

I'm a third year dental student in the HSCP program and I would like to serve as a resource for those applying to HSCP and HPSP. I'm also an executive officer in the military dental club at my school so if I can't answer your questions, I will connect you with someone who can. Unfortunately some of the information provided to applicants is inaccurate, so please ask questions here so that those in the programs can offer thier experience.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I've been considering the navy HPSP for a while (just submitted my D-school applications) and I think it's a great deal all around. Convincing my wife is a little more difficult... anyways I'm wondering what deployments are currently looking like? Seems like the Navy and Air Force hasn't changed too much, but now that we're essentially out of Iraq I'm wondering how the Army has changed? Yes I realize that it could be WWIII and a totally different picture in 4 years.

In the Army there continue to be deployments to Afghanistan and we have had some recent ones to Bosnia/Kosovo. Typically they ask for volunteers first, but when they can't get a volunteer they assign someone. Deployments are usually 4 1/2 months now for most dentists.

I agree, hopefully the US avoids any wars for a while... say at least 9 years or so (when my payback would be done)