2006 Econ graduate needs post bac advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kuruppu

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am going crazy trying to figure out if a post bac path is for me...

Here's the story:
I graduated from UCSB in Sept. 2006 in economics with a GPA of 3.2, and then I left the country and worked for the world bank for a few months along with volunteering for a non profit (did some work at an orphanage). While there, I got a little virus called Dengue fever and was hospitalized at a govt. hospital (not fun). But since then, I have really been seriously considering medecine. I came back in March and have been studying to take my GMAT for business school ever since.... Not sure why I jumped into it so fast, but when I graduated initially thought I wanted an MBA. At this point, I have little experience in health besides volunteering at that nonprofit and working for a summer at another pharmaceutical non profit. What should I do and am I crazy for only wanting to do this now, with little to no experience, and not such a great academic record??

My main question is this:

Is anyone currently doing a post bac program or has completed it and can tell me a little about their own experience. What did you do before you got in, where did you go, and was it worth it? Also, be honest.... what are my chances??

Members don't see this ad.

Lokhtar,

The advice you give is massive help. I have a few more questions... Have you heard anything about USC's post bac program?? If in my application I state that I will do volunteer work and shadow physicians until the beginning of the program, will that help my chances of getting in? Knowing my backround, what would be considered a safe school, and would Columbia be within my reach??

Also, if I apply this fall, how long would a program take to complete?