2 gap years just to travel?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted980811

Hey everyone,

I’m currently a 4th year undergraduate student who switched from pre-dental to pre-medical this past summer! I have been debating on taking 1 vs 2 gap years for a while as I have not had the chance to take the MCAT yet due to switching to pre-medical so late in the game.

If I were to take one gap year, I would have to study for the MCAT next quarter while working 16 hours a week as a scribe, volunteering at 2 different places totaling about 6 hours a week, and take a 2 unit seminar class to keep me enrolled in school. In addition, the following quarter I will be doing the same activities plus an 8 hour a week surgery shadowing program and applying to medical school.

This sounds extremely difficult to pull off well, making me want to take 2 gap years so I have more time to study for the MCAT and pull my application together. Despite this, I believe that aside from the MCAT my application is pretty solid for medical school, which makes me want to stick with just one gap year. I have a 3.85, 250+ hours of volunteering with disadvantaged children, elderly, and Ill homeless people, I have been the president of a dental club that did a mission trip in panama, have served 1 year as VP of the pre-dental club and 1 year as treasurer, will have worked 1 year as an ER scribe by the time I would apply, will have shadowed general surgeons for about 100 hours, and will have completed an honors thesis in a psychology lab in addition to working in it for two quarters and doing a poster presentation on a different project in it last year.