DO 2.68 cgpa 2.0 sgpa Retake classes or do an SMP program? DO school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jj1445

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am an undergrad with an overall gap of 2.68 and science gpa of 2.0. I have 37 credits worth of science pre req left (orgo, biochem, cell bio, micro, molecular bio, etc) to complete the bachelors in biology. In the beginning of college I struggled and did not seek help, and that is evident in my poor gpa. Now I have developed stronger studying skills and am more motivated, so my gpa has shown an upward trend.
I am interested in applying to DO schools in the future, but my gpa is too low. Do you recommend that I retake the science classes that I got C's and D's in for grade replacement, apply for an SMP program after I graduate to boost my gpa, or apply for a masters program?

Here are my stats:
gpa: 2.68 sgpa: 2.0
Physician Shadowing: 200 hours
Clinical volunteering: 300 hours
Have not taken MCAT yet.
No research experience... Yet.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Retake courses. Don't do an SMP for DO

Reactions: 1 users
Finish your remaining credits with A's and retake enough classes to get both GPAs over 3.0 and you should be fine if you apply broadly. You have enough left in front of you to where an SMP is likely not needed.

Members don't see this ad :)
Personally, I would try to see where I stand I the MCAT first. It'd be a shame to waste all of that time and money retaking classes just to bomb the MCAT. The MCAT keeps out tons of folks who did well in their classes the first time around.

Retake the pre-reqs for the MCAT if you think you don't understand the material though.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Reactions: 1 user