This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spottedpothos

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
I'm a medical student who is concerned about the expansion of "gender affirming" care that seems to be, at best, not backed by robust science, and at worst, actively harmful. I saw this segment on 60 Minutes about detransitioners and wanted to know your thoughts and how your med schools are addressing gender/medicine.

Here's the segment: Resources for viewers of "Transgender Healthcare"
Medical schools will of course jump on the bandwagon of anything like this to avoid outrage for a lack of diversity and inclusion.

That said, what needs to be backed by science? These people want something and are getting surgery to make that happen. What you're saying is akin to telling women who get breast implants that their desire for larger breasts is not backed by science. Also, who is saying that this surgery is harmful? What is their evidence to suggest that?

In terms of Transgender Care and Gender Affirming surgery, I personally think if someone identifies as the opposite gender, it's a good thing that we have the technology to be able to make the change and anyone calling it a mental illness in 2021 is probably just has an inreconcilable religious or political bias and is just being plain cruel to these people.

Last edited:
Reactions: 13 users
Medical schools will of course jump on the bandwagon of anything like this to avoid outrage for a lack of diversity and inclusion.

In terms of Transgender Care and Gender Affirming surgery, I personally think if someone identifies as the opposite gender, it's a good thing that we have the technology to be able to make the change and anyone calling it a mental illness in 2021 is probably just has an inreconcilable religious or political bias and is just being plain cruel to these people.