This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chelewn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Yes it's still possible and will be for a long time. Certain specialties don't fill their residency spots, such as FM, Primary Care, Psychiatry, IM (I think). Those are relatively "easy" to match if you do well on your USMLE boards as an FMG (Foreign Medical Graduate). Someone who has gone through this process could give you the best advice, however.

You can also match more competitive residencies (EM, Surgery) but you would need an extremely competitive application for that (top of class, top board scores, publications), etc.

Good luck!

The one item that would increase your chances the most would be to find a nice American husband/wife.

Hello,
I am new to all this and I will start studying medicine in September this year in Denmark. I've always wanted to live in America and be a doctor here.

Can I first start the USMLE tests after I become a doctor here in Denmark? Is it possible for me to become a doctor in America and what should I do?
I am no citizen or permanent resident (of USA).. I've heard something about getting more than 250 or 260 points in those tests will allow me to become a doctor? I am not sure at all

I also don't know when and where to start :)

I hope someone can help me :)

Thanks in advice

Can I ask why you want to come to USA so bad? I'm in the US and I want to go live/work in Scandanavia! haha

Members don't see this ad :)
First of all, I need to find out if it's even possible for me to become a doctor in the US (and how to become it) :)

I hope you guys will help me

Maybe you could talk a little more about your current educational background? The easiest way, if you can manage it, is to attend Medical School stateside instead.