100% commited to EM, but if no interviews I don't want to be overlooked by IM.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

quadzilla

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I really want an EM residency, but being very competive and having low USMLE scores I need to have other options. My second choice is an IM residency. My personal statement shows my desire for IM, I have done an IM Sub-I, and I am a student member of ACP. However, I have also stated in my ERAS application that I am a member of AAEM, EMRA, and ACEP(EM memberships). Will I be overlooked by IM programs? What can I do so I won't be if I don't get any EM interviews?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.