10 years since graduating, want to go into medicine: help w/ decision

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Midoritori

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello

I graduated in 2005 with a degree in East Asian studies/ Japanese. In collage I wanted to do a second major in Biology but I was accepted to a program overseas and graduated before I added that second degree.

I graduated with a 3.8 GPA, in Phi Kappa Phi, Phi Beta kappa, and international golden key honors society. full As (usually 4.0) in Biology, Entomology, Oceanography, Astronomy etc. Not exactly medicine bound courses (except Bio) but I was heavily interested in science. I have always excelled in science and my biology professor pulled me aside in collage and asked why I wasn't getting my degree in Bio.

These days I am a science enthusiast, usually reading scientific journals, I did research for a documentary for prime time television, I love to read science based books magazines. My friends always come to me with ailments as they say I very knowledgeable. I don't say this comment to say I'm somehow above training (light years from it) but more to highlight I thoroughly enjoy researching ailments for friends (don't worry they go to real doctors too!) many many people tell me I should be in medicine. and I think I made a mistake in collage.

I have children and am married. I do not want to give up being there for my children at the end of day. I think this is so important.

I would love to become an MD, but doing residency where your working 24 + hour...I can't do that. I can't understand how anyone can. So I am looking into Nurse Practitioner in Integrative Medicine (or PA). But, I am worried it won't be challenging enough. I live for very complex cases- this is where I really feel a pull. I also feel possibly PAs won't have any complex cases or autonomy as much as an MD or an RA.

Need advice

Thanks so much

Members don't see this ad.