Mangy

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm only a high school sophomore so correct me if I am wrong please, but I believe that the three I have listed are the things you do right after graduating from medical school if you're planning to become a trauma surgeon. Even if you're not specifically going for becoming a trauma surgeon, these are still part of the path for other medical specialties I think so I just listed it separately.

For the sake of helping people, I've been wanting to work in the ER. I found out that the type of things I want to do are what a trauma surgeon would do, not an EM. Here's the thing, though...

I'm terrified.

I'm not afraid of blood and all that. What is terrifying is things like a surgeon shouting at you during your internship while an emergency surgery is taking place, meaning someone's life is currently at risk. Or, completely having no idea what to do when you're the leading surgeon -after a the training I mean- and everyone in your team is depending on you for correct judgement and orders.

I could freaking choose other medical specialties that would be less terrifying than surgery. Although any medical profession isn't easy, I'm pretty sure there are other types of paths with less pressure compared to the pressure during an emergency situation. Those other paths could even have a higher salary. And yet, I really want to be a trauma surgeon. I feel like my fears are shouting at me.

So, I think I could get a better look on this if I heard people's experiences...

(BTW; I've looked at similar and related threads but none has helped so far. They're also really old threads from mostly 2003, 2005, or 2007 that I doubt will be continued)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
In medical school and residency you are going to be yelled at by an attending in all kinds of situations (not just when someones life is at risk) and in all kinds of specialties (not just surgery). You'll get used to it.