This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

makingainz127

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Got my answer, thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi all, I have been searching the internet and haven't really found anything that fits my situation exactly. Sorry this will be long...

So my background is mixed. I am 3/4 Asian Indian and 1/4 Puerto Rican (one of my grandparents is Puerto Rican). I have always checked the Asian and Hispanic boxes when available. Also, I would consider myself SES disadvantaged as both my parents did not complete HS, our household income is under 20K, I started working at 15, I grew up in rural India (this was something that has really sculpted who I am today, but was one of the largest challenges in my life), graduated from an HS that is filled with low-income students (we didn't have lots of tax money and opportunity but I was thankful for whatever the gov gave us), immediate family member got diagnosed with cancer recently, family has been on SNAP and Medicaid.

Culturally I heavily associate with being Indian due to my grandmother leaving behind a lot of what makes her Puerto Rican when she married my grandpa. However, I attended a predominantly Hispanic high school in the U.S. after being raised in India and really started embracing my inner Hispanic (most of my friends were hispanic/volunteered to help latin american countries with them/ learned a little spanish) as everyone thought it was cool that I was a mix whereas in India ppl were just mean cause I looked a little different than my cousins/family.

In college, I tried to volunteer at a health care clinic to help undocumented and underserved Hispanic population. However, due to not being a fluent Spanish speaker...they didn't want me. :(