Work during premed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shruggs

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

So some things didn't go as planned and now i need to find a job to serve as a sustainable source of income that I can use to pay for college. I do not want to get student loans, but my parents are unwilling to pay for my tuition so if I do not work, I will end up with ~$50000 debt by the end of my senior year. (Hopefully I can get a larger scholarship from my departments next year)

I'm a 1st year premed student double majoring in biochem and music performance (already accepted to both majors), wondering about what premed related jobs I could look into.
Being a double major, I will inevitably end up staying on campus for 10 hours straight on certain days (there were no classes left open for freshman and I had to literally take 2 chem classes + music + symphony on the same day), taking 5 classes at a time.
If there are any suggestions as to what part-time job I could look into that could potentially allow me to be flexible (ex. Work more hours on weekends and certain days of the week) that would be great. :)

Members don't see this ad.

I would suggest taking less debt and finding a scribing job for some form of income. Also you can save time and debt by dropping one of the majors.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Not a typical premed job, but if your music skills are strong enough to major in music performance, I'd say you could give lessons locally in whatever instrument(s) you play during class breaks and/or on the weekends. If you don't have any previous work history, I'd say that's probably the highest paying gig you could find, and you could pick your own hours.

Reactions: 1 user
I work as a pharmacy tech. But if you don't have any work experience or clinical volunteering these jobs are hard to get. Tons are going after these jobs with experience.