why so negative to PA's

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tristan14578

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Why are nurses so against Physician assistants? Every time I talk to a nurse all they have to say is negative things about PA’s?

Members don't see this ad.

Why are nurses so against Physician assistants? Every time I talk to a nurse all they have to say is negative things about PA’s?
Hi, I'm Jane. I'm a nurse.

There. You have now talked with a nurse who is not negative about PAs. My experience is the opposite of yours. In five years of practice I've never met a nurse who was negative about PAs as a group.

Hi, I'm Jane. I'm a nurse.

There. You have now talked with a nurse who is not negative about PAs. My experience is the opposite of yours. In five years of practice I've never met a nurse who was negative about PAs as a group.

thank you.
there is some pa vs np rivalry out there but very little rn vs pa.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
thank you.
there is some pa vs np rivalry out there but very little rn vs pa.

Depends on the flavor of the kool-aid at the school. There is one school where I practiced where the instructor told the students that nurses did not have to take orders from PAs. My reply was usually " see how that works out for you". Some of these same programs really perpetuate the myths that you hear in the NP debate. Usually goes away after you work with them. Some of it in at least one institution was NPs that could not find a job working as RNs and badmouthing PAs. Fortunately the only person who's opinion I really care about is my SP.

David Carpenter, PA-C