Why should anyone do a tDPT program??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LegendOfThePhoe

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Why should anyone with a bachelor's or master's degree in physical therapy do a tDPT program?

I don't see any advantages, unless you are someone who graduated 30 years ago and have not kept up with the evidence-based trend.

Seriously, is there any big reason to do a tDPT if you graduated recently with a masters or bachelors?

I graduated from a foreign PT program, and after I got everything evaluated, I was informed that my program was equivalent to a bachelor's degree. I took all the rubbish undergrad courses to remediate my situation and passed the NPTE on my first try. I know that my foreign degree is on par with new grads who are graduating from DPT programs, so what is the point of doing a tDPT program?

Will the state licensing boards demand a DPT or tDPT title with the APTA 2020 Vision plan? Is that the whole idea of the tDPT program, or is it just a tool for schools to make more money? Because clinically it does not seem very interesting.

I would consider doing it if it was mandatory, but otherwise I'd spend my money in more interesting courses.

Members don't see this ad.

I did it about 18 years after graduating with a MS PT. The reasons I chose to do it were: It was relatively inexpensive, I did most of it online, I had to do CEUs anyway. I recieved a degree rather than a certificate of completion, and, the future of the profession is the DPT so I didn't want to compare unfavorably with my peers (on paper).

I learned a few things that I did not have in my on campus program. We had a class on pharmacology and radiology which gave me some tidbits. All in all, it was worth it to me.

Reactions: 1 user