Why I am regretting osteopathy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

osteoparth

Membership Revoked
Removed
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
“DO’s treat the person as a whole”, “DO’s are holistic”, “DO’s are trained to use their hands to bring relief to their patients”.

Such phraseology peaked your interest and you gravitated towards the profession. Who wouldn’t want to treat their patient “as a whole”? If you are still reading, then there is a high probability that you are an osteopathic physician, osteopathic medical student, or prospective medical student. Keep reading, I have 3 important points that you need to know about osteopathy.

I am an osteopathic medical student. I earned an above average MCAT score, and great grades. I could have chosen an allopathic (M.D.) school, but I wanted to be prepared to treat my patients holistically.

1) My school has done a wonderful job at teaching me to treat my patients as a whole. However, I have learned from my MD colleagues that their schools stress the exact same point. This becomes deeply paradoxical for an osteopath because this is partly what make their profession seemingly “distinct”.

2) Historically, between the 1800s-1960s doctors – notably (MDs) – justified their decision making based on patriarchal hierarchies. The doctor “was right”, because he was the doctor and should not be questioned. Fortunately, western medicine evolved to incorporate evidence-based-medicine and scientific-proof for the justification or modern medical decision making. To make my point: MDs got their act together, abandoned cave-man medicine and now society benefits from the most powerful medical system ever known to man.
What about the osteopaths? Have they evolved too? The answer is two-fold.