Where to apply? What MCAT score?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DocsRocks21

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could give me advice on where to apply next cycle. I applied once in 2014 and the only acceptance I got was from St. Georges in Dominican Republic. I was waitlisted at Lecom-Erie. My stats were 3.4 uGPA, 3.5 sGPA, 24 MCAT.

I am currently a student at SUNY Upstate Medical School- College of Graduate Studies getting a Masters in Pharmacology. My first semester gpa was a 3.5. My lab is very intense and I work 8-12 hours a day in it. That makes it very difficult to study for my MCAT which I have planned to retake on 1/23/2016 but am worried I am not ready still. I took it on 9/21 but had to void it since I was very sick and had to end two of the sections early in order to not puke in the room. Every school I talked to told me it was just the mcat holding me back but it really sucks because I thought I would have more time to study but instead my P.I. wants me in lab everyday (I was even there for 7 hours on christmas eve :( ) any SDN'ers have any advice on where to apply? I just really want to get into a US Medical school.

I put a space by the ones that had semi-good news. Please provide any help!!!! I am thinking of applying to most of the same DO ones and LMU-DCOM, ACOM, PCOM-Ga, ATSU-soma, LECOM-Bradenton, and any others you SDN'ers suggest

Last year when I applied here was my list:

MD schools:
Albany Med
Hofstra
New York Medical
Quinnipiac Med
SUNY Upstate
The Commonwealth
University of Rochester
West Virginia
(All of which I got secondaries then rejected from) I am a NY resident and went out on a limb applying to these schools
DO schools:
Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University, AZ (got secondary then rejected)
Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine, NC (secondary then rejected)