When should I apply to St.George?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

texasholdems

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys
I graduated from top 30 US university with B.S Neuroscience
Did a post bac year to improve sciences for a year
I have ~3.5 overall GPA, and ~3.4 sGPA. MCAT is 22.

I am applying to MD programs, but my MCAT is low and I don't know how many MD schools will accept January MCAT updates.
I am in process of "thinking" about DO schools, and probably will end up applying to several programs.
this is my MUST situation: I have no option to "wait out a year", I must start next year, 2014, one big reason why I need to apply to Carribean

I want to apply to St.George. I have everything, transcripts, letters of recommendation, essays. But I am retaking MCAT in January 2014.

Do I have chance to get in with current stats?
Part of me thinks I want to apply now and set my "safety", but part of me thinks I want to wait out for a while until MCAT is done..probably apply in Feb 2014.

What's your comments?
thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys

I am applying to MD programs, but my MCAT is low and I don't know how many MD schools will accept January MCAT updates.
I am in process of "thinking" about DO schools, and probably will end up applying to several programs.
this is my MUST situation: I have no option to "wait out a year", I must start next year, 2014, one big reason why I need to apply to Carribean

I want to apply to St.George. I have everything, transcripts, letters of recommendation, essays. But I am retaking MCAT in January 2014.

Part of me thinks I want to apply now and set my "safety", but part of me thinks I want to wait out for a while until MCAT is done..probably apply in Feb 2014.

What's your comments?
thanks!

First, retake your MCAT and, if you get a better score, apply to US schools. I think you could get into DO for sure. Failing that, then consider the Caribbean.