This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emf65

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new to these forums and looking for a little guidance, maybe from another who has been in these circumstances. I really appreciate being heard out.

I come from a very financially unstable background and spent the latter half of my childhood caring for my littler siblings at home while my mom worked long hours to provide for us. I didn't get to participate in any extracurricular or social activities outside of normal school hours and got very little exposure to professional careers or subjects other than general ed. Anything that cost money, we couldn't do. Despite all of this, I graduated from high school with honors at the top of my class and was very proud of myself for it.

But during my undergraduate career, it started to feel like everything was falling apart all at once. As things kept popping up, I ended up dealing with a bunch of financial (rising tuition costs, working two jobs, continuing to assist family while covering myself & tuition), personal (severe, cyclical depression, undiagnosed until sophomore year), and family (two deaths, one whom I was very close to) problems that I could have never predicted. I also went to an engineering-focused school & tried to force myself through engineering until Junior year, which has now reflected quite negatively in my cGPA, a 3.06, and in my sGPA, a 2.97.