What medical certifications can I get in high school?

GeicoLizard

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a sophomore in High School and I was wondering what certifications I could get in the medical field while in High School. I know that I can take the CNA Exam when I turn 16 1/2, but what other certificates could I get? Is it possible for me to also become a certified pharmacy technician or a certified patient care technician while in High School?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently a sophomore in High School and I was wondering what certifications I could get in the medical field while in High School. I know that I can take the CNA Exam when I turn 16 1/2, but what other certificates could I get? Is it possible for me to also become a certified pharmacy technician or a certified patient care technician while in High School?
Most hospitals require a "Certified Patient Care Technician", their EMT or CNA depending on the hospital and state... I highly recommend getting your EMT (emergency medical technician) Basic. It's a job you can certainly be proud of and I am deciding to make a career out of it. You can also shadow local EMT's to see if you like. CNA, EMT, Fire I (fire I) is if there is any chance you want to go the first responder route, I wish I would have done my Fire I and EMT-B when in high school.

Yes, I am 16 and am a CNA. I am getting my EMT-B in 2 weeks. Go for it! Good luck :D

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, I am 16 and am a CNA. I am getting my EMT-B in 2 weeks. Go for it! Good luck :D
Tell him how awesome EMT is... I still remember my first scenario where I cranked a tourniquet on him so hard I left an imprint/bruise on his arm for the next two weeks... He had an "amputated arm", at least I did it tight enough, I definitely couldn't feel a pulse.

In my state you have to be 17 to become certified as an EMT. Many classes also require you to be 18.