MA/MS What is the most useful Masters degree to pursue while on track for a Ph.D. or Psy.D.?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

03Yuk0n

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a recent graduate of Stony Brook University and received my B.S. in Psychology. I was planning on attending medical school (I've taken the MCAT and completed all of the prerequisite courses needed for medical school), however after a change of heart and new experience in the field of psychology and mental health I've shifted my pursuits. I was wondering what advice everyone here could give me in terms of an enriching/practical Masters degree that would help me in exposure to the field of psychology, as well as prepare me for my admission into a Ph.D. and Psy.D. program?

I sincerely apologize if this issue has already been addressed, however, after some searching on SDN, I couldn't quite find what I was looking for.

Thank you all for your time,
Farhad

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I am a recent graduate of Stony Brook University and received my B.S. in Psychology. I was planning on attending medical school (I've taken the MCAT and completed all of the prerequisite courses needed for medical school), however after a change of heart and new experience in the field of psychology and mental health I've shifted my pursuits. I was wondering what advice everyone here could give me in terms of an enriching/practical Masters degree that would help me in exposure to the field of psychology, as well as prepare me for my admission into a Ph.D. and Psy.D. program?

I sincerely apologize if this issue has already been addressed, however, after some searching on SDN, I couldn't quite find what I was looking for.

Farhad