MD & DO What is the best way to invest some money BEFORE medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

exacto

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Everyone always talks about best ways to repay loans and save money after medical school with debt, but for someone who has about $10,000 in savings, what is the best way to invest this in order to make more money in the future to repay loans or do I even invest at all? Is it is wise to invest this money and take out slightly more in loans or put this towards my tuition and forget about investing till after?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not a finance expert, but I think the general idea would be that it's better used to pay off loans (or used instead of loans, really) because it's very rare to invest in something that will give you a better rate of return than your student loan interest (of like 6%) plus inflation.

If you were to invest in something, I think a passively managed mutual fund like Vanguard would be the best option.

As disclaimer, I also don't really know what I'm talking about. Just stuff I've heard from friends who invest/are in finance.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Definitely use it for tuition. Loans are 6-7% and that 10k is much better being put there than anywhere else. YOu could risk it in a total market ETF/Mutual Fund but your returns would likely be the same or less.

Members don't see this ad :)
Definitely use it for tuition. Loans are 6-7% and that 10k is much better being put there than anywhere else. YOu could risk it in a total market ETF/Mutual Fund but your returns would likely be the same or less.

Thats what I thought.

I'm not a finance expert, but I think the general idea would be that it's better used to pay off loans (or used instead of loans, really) because it's very rare to invest in something that will give you a better rate of return than your student loan interest (of like 6%) plus inflation.