What are my chances for NOVA for upcoming cycle? 3.2 OVR GPA and 3.0 SCI GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shevchenko277

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys, I joined this forum a year ago but was hesitant to make any posts. I am applying to optometry school for this upcoming cycle. My overall GPA is 3.2 and science GPA is 3.0. I am currently studying for OAT and will take it in August. I also have an upward grade trend for the past five semesters. I just graduated with my BS in biology and am trying to shadow an optometrist at the moment. MY EC's include volunteering at a hospital and food bank, guitar teacher, musician at college events, Big Brother mentor and Student Government senator. My first few semesters had C's in some prereqs due to lack of focus and my Crohn's disease.
This is my grades for my last couple of semesters but I still have to take biochemistry:

Spring 2017

Plant Life History: A
Calculus 2: B
Physiology Lab: A
Human Anatomy: B
Human Anatomy Lab: B+

Fall 2017
Oceanography: B+
Tropical Botany: A
Tropical Ecology: B
General Microbiology: B

Summer 2016
Parasitology: A
Parasitology lab: A
Physiology: A
Senior Seminar: A
Medical Terminology: A

Spring 2016
Histology:B
Calculus 1(Retake): A
Physics 2: A
Physics Lab: A

Fall 2016
Embryology: B
Embryology Lab: A
Evolution: A-
Ecology lab: A
Public Health: A

What are my chances for Nova Optometry? What should I do to make myself more competitive? Any advice will be greatly appreciated !

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You have a shot as long as your OAT is competitive. Aim for a 330 or higher and apply as soon as the applications open. Good luck!

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
You have a shot as long as your OAT is competitive. Aim for a 330 or higher and apply as soon as the applications open. Good luck!
Thank You evorage. I will study hard for the OAT exam