DO What are my chances for DO school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drgoldenboy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have recently decided, after graduating college, that I want to pursue DO school. I graduated from a respected liberal arts school with a double degree in Neuroscience and Philosophy, but did pretty horribly in a lot of my pre-med classes (mostly C's and B-'s, but early on in college). I ended up with a 2.7 sGPA, and a 3.0 cGPA. I am now in the process of doing an informal post bac, but have just realized that even if I ace all of the recommended pre-med courses (A & P 1 +2, Genetics, Microbiology) and ace all of the pre-reqs I still need (Physics 1 & 2 + Biochem), I still could only push myself to a 3.1 sGPA. So far, I have retaken Cell Bio and Bio 1 (which I thought I could grade replace), and finished up A & P 1, all with A's. Although it is hard to project without an MCAT score (lets assume I score ~508), I would like to know whether I have a decent shot at getting into a DO school IF I ace all of the classes mentioned.

I do also have this going for me, and will likely add by the time I plan to apply (2019):
1. 2 years as a clinical research coordinator with a decent amount of patient contact
2. Shadowed a DO for 50+ hours and will get a rec
3. Good recs from my PI and professors
3. First author on a book chapter for a primer textbook related to what we research in the lab
4. A handful of posters
5. An A in my Neuroscience thesis

If anyone could shed some light, or make any suggestions, that would be very much appreciated. A lot of assumptions made, but I really would like to get a more accurate perspective so I don't spend the next three years working my tail off in vain.

Thanks a lot.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
By the way, I am a caucasian male that is currently a resident of MA. @Goro if you get a chance to reply.

Last edited: