Technology Virtual EMR

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stim4me

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
my in office server blew out two drives today... Can't pull up EMR data for a day until new drives arrive. My IT guy recommends a virtual server on top of my in house serves for days like this or any future catastrophes. Anybody with experience and aware of costs for initiation....

Members don't see this ad.

my in office server blew out two drives today... Can't pull up EMR data for a day until new drives arrive. My IT guy recommends a virtual server on top of my in house serves for days like this or any future catastrophes. Anybody with experience and aware of costs for initiation....
Hello,

Sorry for the technical issues and hope you recover soon with minimal (zero) data and monetary loss. I'm a current/former system administrator/developer, mostly in medium sized corporations, and not in the health care industry, but the concepts are identical. Only difference would be HIPAA compliance, mostly.

Truthfully, one would need a lot more information on your situation to accurately answer your question, such as the entire architecture/infrastructure layout and exactly what failed. For example, is your EMR software all in one server? Or do you have multiple servers, say, one for the EMR, and some back-end storage for patient data? Does your EMR have separate application and database servers?