Veterans: Anyone using VA voc rehab?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rikudo

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a vet with a VA rating that qualifies for vocational rehab. I have an full post 9/11 GI Bill available to use as well.

My question is: has anyone out there used voc rehab for medical school or other professional programs?

From my understanding voc rehab and the GI Bill can be used concurrently with voc rehab paying all tuition/fees/expenses and GI Bill providing E-5 w/dep BAH. Essential this would be a full ride scholarship with all expenses paid to attend medical school... this almost seems too good to be true. I understand voc rehab was originally intended for shorter vocational degrees, but there are sources stating it can pay for law school, pharmacy school etc...

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
One of the guys that I'm going through with did voc rehab plus the last little bit of Post-9/11 to cover tuition. I used all of my Post-9/11 on the first 3.5-ish years of med school, covered all of tuition plus the BAH as stipend. It does run out before your time is up, however, caveat emptor. It's a good deal, particularly at an in-state school.

Reactions: 2 users
I don't personally know anyone who used VR&E for med school, but I plan on attempting to use it. That is, if my rating gets finalized any time soon. My comp and pen appeal has been under review since 2009.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a vet with a VA rating that qualifies for vocational rehab. I have an full post 9/11 GI Bill available to use as well.

My question is: has anyone out there used voc rehab for medical school or other professional programs?